Go to the top

Intense Beam and Accelerator Laboratory (IBAL)

Prof. Moses Chung's Research Group / UNIST


국내 대형 가속기 소개 동영상:


Several large-scale accelerator facilities are operational or under construction in Korea, such as the Korea Multi-purpose Accelerator Complex (KOMAC) in Gyeongju, the Synchrotron Light Source (PLS-II) and the X-ray Free Electron Laser (PAL-XFEL) in Pohang, the Rare Isotope Science Project (RISP) in Daejeon, and the Korea Heavy Ion Medical Accelerator (KHIMA) in Gijang. By using advanced beam physics models and simulation tools, cutting-edge beam diagnostics, and sophisticated beam manipulation techniques, we aim to optimize and improve the performance of those accelerators. Furthermore, we will try to develop transformational technologies for the next-generation high-intensity accelerators such as the International Fusion Materials Irradiation Facility (IFMIF), Accelerator Driven System (ADS), and Heavy Ion Fusion (HIF). Applications of the accelerators to laboratory astrophysics and cancer therapy will also be actively pursued.

본 연구실에서는 새로운 빔 물리 모형 및 수치해석 코드, 첨단 빔 진단 및 제어 장치를 활용하여, UNIST 인근에 운영 또는 건설 중인 대형 가속기의 구축, 최적화 및 성능향상에 기여하고, 나아가 지금보다  가속 효율이  10~100 배 높은 첨단 고강도 가속기 개발에 필요한 물리적-기술적 난제에 도전한다. 이러한 첨단 가속기는 핵융합 재료 연구, 핵폐기물 처리, 우주의 신비 탐구, 암 치료 등 인류가 당면한 여러 문제를 해결하는 데 필수적인 첨단기술이다.

UNIST Research Groups:
[Ion Traps/Beam Manipulations] 신복균 (Postdoc), 유경훈, 박성남, 손혁준 (Alumna)
[Beam-Driven Wakefields/Advanced Accelerators] 김성열, 문국진, 석지민, 정준영
[High-Intensity Accelerator Physics/Beam Diagnostics] 성창규, 천유림, 문석호, 곽동현

IBAL Local: http://ibals.unist.ac.kr

UNIST Physics Department: http://physics.unist.ac.kr

UNIST Physics wiki: http://wiki.unist.in/w/물리학과

Center for High Energy Astrophysics (CHEA): http://sirius.unist.ac.kr/SRC-CHEA/index.html



2014~: Assistant / Associate Professor, Dept. of Physics, Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST)
2012~2014: Peoples Fellow / Associate Scientist, Accelerator Physics Center, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Fermilab)
2010~2012: Assistant Professor, Handong Global University (HGU) at Pohang
2008~2010: Postdoc, Accelerator Physics Center, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Fermilab)
2001~2008: Research Assistant, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory (PPPL)



Ph. D. Plasma Physics, Princeton University
– Advisor: Prof. Ronald C. Davidson (Passed away on 19 May 2016)
– Thesis: “Studies of charged particle beam dynamics on the Paul trap simulator experiment pure ion plasma”
M. S. Nuclear Engineering (Nuclear Fusion Major), Seoul National University
– Advisor: Prof. Sang-Hee Hong (Retired)
– Thesis: “Full wave modeling for fast wave current drive simulation in tokamak plasmas”
B. S. Nuclear Engineering, Seoul National University



Peoples Fellowship from Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Outstanding Accelerator Scientists
Early in Their Careers, 2012 – 2014)
Graduated with Highest Honors in SNU Nuclear Engineering Dept.




Research Interest

Beam physics with intense self-fields and strong coupling
Advanced beam diagnostics and manipulations
Beam-plasma interactions and advanced accelerators (Wakefields/Muon)
Plasma and beam physics using ion and electron traps
High-intensity accelerator R&D for future nuclear energy (Nuclear Data, IFMIF, ADS, and HIF)


Recent Publications (Selected)

[9] The AWAKE Collaboration (including M. Chung), “Acceleration of electrons in the plasma wakefield of a proton bunch”, Nature 561, 363 (2018).
[8] M. Chung, H. Qin, R. C. Davidson, L. Groening, and C. Xiao, “Generalized Kapchinskij-Vladimirskij Distribution and Beam Matrix for Phase-Space Manipulations of High-Intensity Beams”, Physical Review Letters 117, 224801 (2016).
[7] L. Groening, M. Maier, C. Xiao, L. Dahl, P. Gerhard, S. Mickat, H. Vormann, M. Vossberg, and M. Chung, “Experimental Proof of Adjustable Single-Knob Ion Beam Emittance Partitioning”, Physical Review Letters 113, 264802 (2014).
[6] S. G. Arutunian, A. E. Avetisyan, M. A. Davtyan, G. S. Harutyunyan, I. E. Vasiniuk, M. Chung, and V. Scarpine, “Large Aperture Vibrating Wire Monitor with Two Mechanically Coupled Wires for Beam Halo Measurements”, Physical Review Accelerators and Beams 17, 032802 (2014).
[5] M. Chung et al., “Pressurized H2 RF Cavities in Ionizing Beams and Magnetic Fields”, Physical Review Letters 111, 184802 (2013).
[4] H. Qin, R. C. Davidson, M. Chung, and J. W. Burby, “Generalized Courant-Snyder Theory for Charged Particle Dynamics in General Focusing Lattices”, Physical Review Letters 111, 104801 (2013).
[3] M. Chung, E. P. Gilson, R. C. Davidson, P. C. Efthimion, and R. Majeski, “Use of a Linear Paul Trap to Study Random-Noise Induced Beam Degradation in High-Intensity Accelerators”, Physical Review Letters 102, 145003 (2009).
[2] H. Qin, M. Chung, and R. C. Davidson, “Generalized Kapchinskij-Vladimirskij Distribution and Envelope Equation for High-Intensity Beams in a Coupled Transverse Focusing Lattice”, Physical Review Letters 103, 224802 (2009).
[1] M. Chung, E. P. Gilson, M. Dorf, R. C. Davidson, P. C. Efthimion, and R. Majeski, “Experiments on Transverse Compression of a Long Charge Bunch in a Linear Paul Trap”, Physical Review Accelerators and Beams 10, 064202 (2007).




BokKyun Shin (with Prof. Dongsu Ryu)

Ph.D Students (including Master-Ph.D-Combined):
Seong-Yeol Kim (UNIST, now at CERN/AWAKE)
Chang-Kyu Sung (UNIST, now at IBS/CAPP)
Kook-Jine Moon (UNIST)
Kyoung-Hun Yoo (UNIST)
Ji-Min Seok (UNIST, now at ANL/AWA)
Sung-Nam Park (UNIST)
Yoo-Lim Cheon (UNIST)
Seok-Ho Moon (UNIST)
Donghyun Kwak (UNIST)
Jun-Yeong Jeong (UNIST)

Master Students:

Undergraduate Interns:
Jiho Mun (UNIST, in military service)
Je Hwan Han (UNIST, 2019 summer/fall)
Uksam Choi (UNIST, 2019 fall)

Dong-Nyung Choe (Master, now at HANMI Semiconductor)
Chul-Woon Choi (Master, now at SAMSUNG Electronics)
Sandeep Kumar (Postdoc, now Associate Professor, Manav Rachna University at India)
Hyock-Jun Son (Ph.D from Handong Global University, now at IBS/RISP)


Outside Collaborators: 
Fermilab: MTA group, FAST/IOTA group
PPPL: Dr. Hong Qin, Prof. Ronald C. Davidson (Passed away on 19 May 2016)
ESS: Beam instrumentation group (Dr. Andreas Jansson)
GSI: Linac group (Dr. Lars Groening)
CERN: AWAKE Collaboration, GBAR Collaboration
RAL: MICE Collaboration
Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics, Heidelberg: EBIT (Dr. Jose R. Crespo López-Urrutia)
Yerevan Physics Institute: Accelerator Diagnostics Group (Dr. Suren Arutunian)
SNU, KU(Sejong): Antiproton trap
PAL: Injector Test Facility (ITF), High-power cyclotron for ADS
RISP: Beam diagnostics, EBIS, NDPS
Center for Axion and Precision Physics (CAPP): Muon beam manipulations and diagnostics
ANL: AWA group (Dr. Gwanghui Ha)

Prof. Moses Chung's Research Group